Many people in Arkansas end up in car accidents at one point or another. In 2014 alone, 60,947 crashes occurred on roadways in the state, which was a 4.3 percent increase from the previous year, according to data collected by the Arkansas State Police.
After a motor vehicle accident, even a minor one, you will probably feel flustered and angry. Even so, the important thing is to remain calm. You have a lot of people to speak with in the immediate aftermath, and you want to make sure you talk to each one to have an easier claims process.
The other driver
Regardless of who appears to be at fault, you want to talk to the other driver. You need to obtain his or her driver’s license number, insurance information, phone number and email address. You will need to provide your information to the other driver, too.
Even for a small collision, you will want to contact the police to come out to the scene to create an official report. The police can then submit this report to both of your insurance agencies. When an officer arrives, you simply need to provide the facts. If you are unsure about anything, then do not be afraid to say, “I do not know the answer to that.”
Your insurance company
Following a car accident, you need to speak with a representative at your insurance agency relatively soon. Similarly to when you speak to the police, you want to stick to the facts. There is no need to tell an agent you were partially at fault because you may not have all the facts yet. Additionally, your insurance agency can use any information you provide against you to provide less money.
Although you may feel fine following a car crash, it is still best to see a doctor within 24 hours. People can develop many hidden injuries that take weeks to show any symptoms. Tell your doctor of what happened and if you are in any pain.